2021-2022 College Catalog

Mandatory Reporting

All TBCC employees are required by Oregon law to report suspected cases of child abuse to the Oregon Department of Human Services (DHS) or law enforcement officials. This duty is personal to the individual college employee and applies twenty-four hours-a-day, seven days-a-week whether or not the employee is on work time. College employees must immediately report to DHS or local law enforcement when the employee has “reasonable cause to believe” that any child with whom the employee comes in contact with has suffered abuse, or that any person with whom the employee comes in contact with has abused a child.

Multnomah County DHS: 1-877-302-0077 • Tillamook Police: 503-842-2522 In addition, college employees and students must report to the college director of facilities, safety and human resources instances of inappropriate conduct when they witness, receive a report of, or have reason to believe an instance of child abuse has occurred. This requirement applies to cases of abuse that allegedly occur on campus, on property owned or leased by the college, or while members of the faculty, staff or student body are participating in a college-connected activity off campus. Reporting to the designated college official does not satisfy the legal duty to report to DHS or local law enforcement.



  • Any assault of a child and any physical injury to a child which has been caused by other than accidental means;
  • Any mental injury to a child, which shall include only observable and substantial impairment of the child’s mental or psychological ability to function caused by cruelty to the child, with due regard to the culture of the child;
  • Rape of a child, which includes but is not limited to rape, sodomy, unlawful sexual penetration and incest;
  • Sexual abuse;
  • Sexual exploitation, including:
    • Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor;
    • Allowing, permitting, encouraging or hiring a child to engage in prostitution or patronize a prostitute;
    • Negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child;
    • Threatened harm to a child, which means subjecting a child to a substantial risk of harm to the child’s health or welfare;
  • Buying or selling a person under 18 years of age;
  • Permitting a person under 18 years of age to enter or remain in or upon premises where methamphetamines are being manufactured; or
  • Unlawful exposure to a controlled substance, as defined in ORS 475.005, that subjects a child to a substantial risk of harm to the child’s health or safety.

Child: an unmarried person who is under 18 years of age.

Law enforcement agency:

  • a city or municipal police department;
  • a county sheriff’s office;
  • the Oregon State Police; or
  • a county juvenile department.

Legal Reference

ORS 419B.005 to 419B.050

TBCC Sex Offender Notification Procedures

Information regarding registered sex offenders may be obtained from the Oregon State Police (503-378-3720) and requesting the Sex Offender Unit. In accordance with the Clery Act, the Campus Crime Statistics Act, and the Campus Crimes Prevention Act, Tillamook Bay Community College periodically receives Sex Offender Notifications from Tillamook County and the State of Oregon for students who are enrolled at TBCC.

Notification Process

  1. Sex offenders are recommended to attend TBCC by a County parole or probation officer after consultation with the Vice President of Student Services and it is determined by both the officer and the Director that TBCC is an appropriate educational setting for the candidate. The director will be in contact with the student’s parole officer to learn the conditions of his/her probation/parole/post-prison supervision, if any.
  2. Upon receipt of notification that a sexual offender will be a TBCC student, the V.P. of student services will determine if the person is enrolled in classes at TBCC by checking TBCC’s Student Information System (Jenzabar).
  3. Additional communication between TBCC and the student’s parole officer or supervisor will be through and the responsibility of the V.P. of student services or designee. The V.P. of student services may include College Leadership Team members based on the individual student situation.
  4. If any restrictions or conditions exist for the student, the V.P. of student services will place a registration hold on the student’s record until such time as all restrictions or conditions have been met.
  5. If, as a condition of probation, parole, or supervision, the sex offender is precluded from having contact with minors; the student’s schedule will be reviewed by the V.P. of student services to determine if there are minor students enrolled in courses that would violate the terms or conditions as set in the probation, parole, or supervision documentation. If there is a conflict TBCC may deny enrollment to the student to specific courses on that basis. The Vice President of Student Services will set and notify the student of any appropriate facility restrictions and behavioral expectations which apply to all TBCC campuses, centers, and courses.
  6. The V.P. of student services will notify administration, staff and instructors of the enrollment of a registered sex offender if the Vice President and/or TBCC’s leadership team determines such notification is consistent with TBCC’s educational mission and the best interest of TBCC.